High School Art Public Reception and Awards Ceremony

Merit of Honor and Viewer’s Choice Awards Announced


(TYLER, TX) March 21, 2011 – The Tyler Museum of Art hosted a reception and awards ceremony for the 7th Annual High School Art Exhibition Sunday, March 20, from 2:00 to 4:00 p.m. Close to 200 visitors attended the ceremony during which Merit of Honor awards and Viewer’s Choice awards were presented to students. Five Merit of Honor recipients were chosen by local college art educators, and three Viewer’s Choice awards were awarded based on votes collected in the weeks leading up to the reception. The exhibition remains on view through Sunday, March 27, and is free to the public.

The Merit of Honor awards were presented to: Rachael Carreno, John Tyler High School; Aza Pace, Bishop T. K. Gorman High School; Madeline Ryder, Bishop T. K. Gorman High School; Kristy Whitehurst, Hallsville High School; and Miles Zeorlin, Bishop T. K. Gorman High School. Viewer’s Choice awards were presented to: Sydney Booth, All Saints Episcopal School; Brooke Moore, All Saints Episcopal School; and Chloe Parra, Lindale High School.

“We believe this exhibition is one of the most important efforts of the TMA, and as always, it was a moving experience to share in the excitement of the student artists and their family and friends during the reception,” said TMA Head of Education, Ken Tomio. The 7th Annual High School Art Exhibition opened on March 6 and features works in a variety of media including works on paper, sculpture, ceramics, and more. The students represent nine area high schools, and were selected for participation in the exhibition by their art teachers. Prior to the opening of the exhibition, the pieces were judged by a panel of jurors selected by the TMA curatorial staff from local college art departments. Jurors include Chris Stewart, chairman of the visual arts department at Tyler Junior College; Curtis Watson, professor of art at Texas College; and Merrie Wright, assistant professor of art for the University of Texas at Tyler.

Viewer’s Choice category was added to the exhibition this year in order to offer Museum visitors a chance to participate in the recognition of these young artists. Visitors to the exhibition were given the opportunity to choose their top three picks for the awards. Only works by high school senior contributors were eligible for the Merit of Honor award, but all participants including those featured in the Up & Coming category were eligible to receive the Viewer’s Choice. Up & Coming includes works by high school freshman, sophomore, and junior artists.

Participating Schools & Student Artists
All Saints Episcopal School: (Millie Piwonka and Dede Smith, Instructors) William Baker, Sydney Booth, Cambridge Bosworth, Stephen DeCarlo, Ryan Dwyer, Baxter Easley, Hillary Hancock, Kate Hill, Jennifer Johnson, Neiman Johnson, Cassidy Loving, Ally McMann, and Lindsey Stewart.

Bishop T. K. Gorman High School: (Lisa McGehee, Instructor) Jacob Becker, Madelin Ann Camp, Jacob Johnson, Philip Morley, Zachary Norris, Aza Pace, Madeline Ryder, Mary Schwarzbach, and Miles Zeorlin.

Hallsville High School: (Jeannie Davis, Instructor) Anthony Eason, Kathryn Ortiz, Tia Owens, Sarah Pattullo, Matt Smith, Samantha Thompson, and Kristy Whitehurst.

Henderson High School: (Jodi Waggoner, Instructor) Brooke Moore.

John Tyler High School: (Marilyn Coler, Instructor) Sarah Branin, Racheal Correno, Gabrielle Pringle, and Jazmin Solis.

Lindale High School: (Walter James, Instructor) Chloe Parra.

Overton High School: (Cassie Bayless, Instructor) Dena Baker, Davida Harris, Shianne Lugenbell, Avery Lee Neuendorff, Shelbi Proctor, Michael Shelton Rogers, Alexandria Starke, and Reggie Thompson.

Robert E. Lee High School: (Linda East, Linda Keane, and Elizabeth Lade, Instructors) Ronnie Alley, Tyler Banks, Paige Chamness, Michael Esbay, Evelyn Galindez, Rebecca Hoffman, Jeremi McGuire, Brandi Prince, Robert McKay Rands, Mary Helen Reuter, Sergio Soto, Sabrina Wang, and Alicia Zavala.

Whitehouse High School: (Lisa Kendall and Christine Killian, Instructors) Kelsey Bailey, Alexandra Callaway, Mariah Casarez, Nathan Denning, Maddison Hartgraves, Amber Jones, Courtney McKay, Haneen Momani, Eduardo Ocampo, Alison Peck, Jacqueline Yost, and Jacob Ziegler.

Up & Coming
The following students have works on view in the Up & Coming section of the exhibition: Jacob Johnson (Bishop T. K. Gorman High School), Gamaliel Mendoza (John Tyler High School), Chloe Parra (Lindale High School), and Norma Gonzalez (Whitehouse High School).

The Tyler Museum of Art, accredited by the American Association of Museums, is located at 1300 S. Mahon Ave., adjacent to the Tyler Junior College campus off East Fifth Street. Regular hours are 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday, and 1 to 5 p.m. Sunday. (The Museum is closed Mondays and major holidays.) Lunch is available in the Museum Café from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Tuesday through Friday, and the TMA Gift Shop is open during Museum hours. For more information, call (903) 595-1001 or visit www.tylermuseum.org.